UK Budget sets out a £700M AI package with £120M more for the AI Security Institute
The UK Budget on 28 October 2026 sets out a £700M AI package: £120M more for the AI Security Institute, £140M for sovereign AI and a Data Centre Covenant.
By Berkant A.Published
Tech AI LatestChancellor John Healey's Budget, delivered on 28 October 2026, includes what HM Treasury calls the government's most ambitious AI package yet, worth £700 million. It gives the AI Security Institute an extra £120 million, funds a £40 million national capability to respond to agentic AI security incidents, adds £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit and sets up a Data Centre Covenant that trades grid connections for community, energy and security tests.
Key facts
- Announced: 28 October 2026 in the Budget speech and HM Treasury's Budget release
- Total AI package: £700 million, according to HM Treasury
- AI Security Institute: additional £120 million; agentic security incident capability: £40 million
- Sovereign AI Unit: additional £140 million; local AI adoption pilots in Yorkshire: £30 million
- Data Centre Covenant: strategic projects must meet tests on community investment, energy costs, British jobs and national security
- Not stated: the year-by-year profile of the spending and the covenant's legal form
What the Budget announced
Chancellor John Healey presented his first Budget to the House of Commons on 28 October 2026. In the Budget speech he said AI security would get an extra half a billion pounds and the Sovereign AI Unit another £140 million. HM Treasury's Budget release puts the full AI package at £700 million and calls it the government's most ambitious AI package yet.
On security, the release lists an additional £120 million for the AI Security Institute and £40 million for what it calls a world-first national capability to investigate and respond to agentic security incidents. It also mentions money for institutions and infrastructure to strengthen resilience against cyber and biological threats, and further funding for the AI Economics Institute to study effects on jobs, productivity and living standards. Those last amounts are not stated in the release.
Sovereign AI and the Data Centre Covenant
The extra £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit is meant to help promising UK AI companies scale and keep a meaningful presence in Britain. A further £30 million will pilot local AI adoption partnerships, starting with the West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and York and North Yorkshire combined authorities.
The new Data Centre Covenant sets stringent tests for strategic projects that seek enhanced government support, covering community investment, energy costs, support for British industry and jobs, and national security. In the speech, Healey framed it as a deal: data centres that invest locally, create jobs and protect water supplies get the grid connections they need and, where necessary, permission to build onsite generation while they wait. He tied it to keeping NHS and armed forces AI data in the UK.
Why it matters
Grid connection delays are one of the main constraints on new data centres in Britain, so a formal route to faster connections in exchange for conditions is a significant change for operators. The £40 million incident capability is also notable because it treats failures by autonomous agents as a category of national security incident. The speech separately said the government is investing in AI for Civil Service transformation to support a further £600 million of back-office savings, and launching a review of NHS productivity and AI. This adds to the UK's recent biosecurity work covered in AI Policy & Regulation.
What to watch next
The Budget documents do not yet say how the covenant tests will be measured, who will assess them or whether legislation is needed. The new AI Challenge Prize for public services and the Union Learning Fund support for workers also need details. The spending profile across years is not stated in the release.
What changed
| Before | UK AI security and sovereign AI spending ran on earlier allocations, and data centres had no formal deal on grid access |
|---|---|
| After | A £700 million AI package adds £120 million for AISI, £40 million for agentic incident response and £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit, plus a Data Centre Covenant |
| Who it affects | UK AI companies, data centre developers, the AI Security Institute and public bodies adopting AI |
Questions people ask
- How much AI funding is in the UK Budget 2026?
- HM Treasury puts the AI package at £700 million, including £120 million more for the AI Security Institute, £40 million for agentic incident response and £140 million for the Sovereign AI Unit.
- What is the UK Data Centre Covenant?
- A set of tests on community investment, energy costs, British jobs and national security that strategic data centre projects must meet to get enhanced government support, including grid connections.
- What is the agentic security incident capability?
- HM Treasury describes it as a world-first national capability to investigate and respond to security incidents involving AI agents, funded with £40 million. Its host body is not stated.
Sources
- Budget 2026: Breathing space for today, hope for the future (HM Treasury, 28 Oct 2026)
- Budget 2026 speech (HM Treasury, 28 Oct 2026)
- Budget 2026 document (HM Treasury, 28 Oct 2026)
Reference pages
- UK AI Security Institute company
Spotted an error? See the corrections policy and tell the editor. Facts in this story come from the sources listed above; vendor claims are attributed.
Comments
Loading comments.





