OpenAI and Oracle plan to bring Oracle business apps into ChatGPT and sell Codex via Oracle Marketplace
OpenAI and Oracle said on 27 October 2026 they will bring Oracle apps into ChatGPT; US Oracle customers can already buy OpenAI products via Oracle Marketplace.
By Berkant A.Published
OpenAI and Oracle announced at Oracle AI World on 27 October 2026 an expanded partnership. Oracle applications and data are to be brought into ChatGPT, Oracle will build new products on OpenAI models, and US Oracle customers can buy the OpenAI API, Codex and ChatGPT Work through Oracle Marketplace using eligible Oracle credits. Timing and pricing for several components are not stated in the announcement.
Key facts
- Announced: 27 October 2026 at Oracle AI World (OpenAI)
- Available now: US Oracle customers can buy the OpenAI API, Codex and ChatGPT Work through Oracle Marketplace with eligible Oracle Universal Credits
- Planned: Oracle applications and data inside ChatGPT, through Oracle AI Workspace
- Developer tool: Oracle App Composer, built to let teams create and share internal apps with Codex
- Usage claim: OpenAI executive Derrick Choi says Oracle has 130,000 ChatGPT users and more than 95,000 Codex users
- Not stated: launch date and pricing for the new Oracle products
What OpenAI and Oracle announced
OpenAI and Oracle announced an expanded partnership on 27 October 2026, timed to Oracle AI World. OpenAI says the two companies will bring Oracle applications and data into ChatGPT and use OpenAI models and products to power new Oracle products and services.
The central piece is Oracle AI Workspace, which is meant to let people find information in Oracle systems and run approved business processes from inside ChatGPT. Coverage of the announcement notes that OpenAI describes the workspace as something Oracle is still developing, while Oracle's own release frames it as part of its offering. Neither company gives a general availability date.
A second piece is Oracle App Composer, which OpenAI says is designed to help teams build apps with Codex and other AI tools and share them inside their organisation.
What is available today
The one part that works now is buying. According to the announcement, Oracle customers in the United States can purchase access to the OpenAI API, Codex and ChatGPT Work through Oracle Marketplace, using their existing procurement process and eligible Oracle Universal Credits. That lets a company pay for OpenAI products from an Oracle commitment it already holds instead of opening a separate contract.
Oracle also described an offering for small businesses that combines ChatGPT Business and Codex with Oracle applications and recurring Oracle Cloud Infrastructure credits. Some outlets quote a dollar value for the credits, but the figure is not in OpenAI's text, so we do not repeat it. Eligibility rules were not detailed.
On adoption, OpenAI's Derrick Choi wrote on X that Oracle itself has 130,000 ChatGPT users and more than 95,000 Codex users. This is a company claim and has not been independently checked.
What changed and why it matters
Oracle already announced on 26 October that it uses AI agents to speed up Fusion implementations, as we covered in Oracle uses six AI agents and a public setup registry. The OpenAI announcement a day later is about the other side of the same business: where employees work with the data once the applications are running.
Our reading: putting enterprise applications behind a chat interface makes ChatGPT a front end to systems of record, and makes Oracle's cloud credits a sales channel for OpenAI. Both depend on how much of Oracle AI Workspace ships and how permissions to sensitive finance and HR data are handled, and neither company has said.
What to watch next
Watch for a date and pricing for Oracle AI Workspace, whether the Marketplace purchase option extends beyond US customers, and which Oracle applications are connected first. Also watch whether Oracle publishes security details for the integration, since the announcement does not describe how approvals and data access are enforced.
What changed
| Before | Oracle customers bought OpenAI products separately from Oracle applications and cloud contracts |
|---|---|
| After | US Oracle customers can buy the OpenAI API, Codex and ChatGPT Work through Oracle Marketplace with Oracle credits; Oracle apps are planned to appear inside ChatGPT |
| Who it affects | Oracle application and cloud customers, enterprise ChatGPT and Codex buyers, Oracle and OpenAI partners |
Questions people ask
- Can Oracle customers use ChatGPT with Oracle apps today?
- Not yet in full. The announced Oracle AI Workspace is the planned connection, and no launch date is stated. What is available now is buying OpenAI products through Oracle Marketplace.
- Who can buy OpenAI products through Oracle Marketplace?
- Oracle customers in the United States can buy the OpenAI API, Codex and ChatGPT Work with eligible Oracle Universal Credits, according to the announcement.
- What is Oracle App Composer?
- OpenAI describes it as a way for teams to build apps with Codex and other AI tools and share them within their organisation. Pricing and release timing are not stated.
Sources
- OpenAI and Oracle bring Oracle apps into ChatGPT (OpenAI, 27 Oct 2026)
- Oracle reinvents enterprise computing for the AI era with OpenAI (Oracle, 27 Oct 2026)
- ChatGPT to get Oracle apps through Oracle AI Workspace (Technobezz, 28 Oct 2026)
Reference pages
Spotted an error? See the corrections policy and tell the editor. Facts in this story come from the sources listed above; vendor claims are attributed.
Comments
Loading comments.





