AMD unveils Helion rack for agentic AI with up to 32,768 EPYC CPU cores
AMD introduced Helion on 12 October 2026, an open rack blueprint for agentic AI with up to 32,768 EPYC cores, planned with partners for November 2026.
By Emre AlemdarPublished
Tech AI LatestAMD introduced Helion on 12 October 2026, an open rack blueprint for agentic AI workloads based on an Open Compute Project design. A CPU-only version holds up to 32,768 cores of 6th Gen AMD EPYC processors, and an all-in-one version adds Instinct MI350P GPU nodes. Configurations are under development with Dell, HPE, Lenovo, Supermicro and others and are planned for November 2026. No customers, prices or benchmarks are given.
Key facts
- Announced: 12 October 2026 (AMD press release)
- CPU-only rack: 6th Gen AMD EPYC processors, up to 32,768 CPU cores
- All-in-one rack: EPYC CPU nodes, AMD Instinct MI350P GPU nodes and general-purpose compute
- Availability: configurations planned for November 2026 with ecosystem partners
- AMD plans to contribute the Helion specification to the Open Compute Project
- Not stated: customers, prices, performance benchmarks
What AMD announced
AMD introduced AMD Helion on 12 October 2026 as an open blueprint for agentic AI infrastructure. It is based on an Open Compute Project specification and builds on the approach of AMD's Helios rack-scale GPU system. AMD says customers can tune CPU core density, performance and power to agent workloads, and an integrated token router directs agents' model calls across frontier and open-source models.
There are two configurations. The CPU-only rack uses 6th Gen AMD EPYC processors and supports up to 32,768 CPU cores. AMD aims it at hyperscale customers that want dedicated capacity for running agents, connected to separate model inference infrastructure. The all-in-one rack combines EPYC CPU nodes, AMD Instinct MI350P GPU nodes and general-purpose compute on one platform, and is aimed at enterprises. Both come in liquid-cooled and air-cooled versions.
Who is building it
Configurations are under development with ecosystem partners and are planned for November 2026. The release quotes Cisco, Dell Technologies, Hon Hai Technology Group, HPE, Lenovo, QCT, Supermicro and Wiwynn. Supermicro says its version is ORv3 compliant. AMD plans to contribute the Helion specification to the Open Compute Project. HPE's quote refers to a recent customer agreement for AMD Helios, the GPU rack, not for Helion itself.
Dan McNamara, AMD's senior vice president for compute and enterprise AI, is quoted saying: "Agentic AI is not a single workload." The release contains no benchmark figures beyond the 32,768-core maximum, names no Helion customers and gives no prices. The EPYC processor model inside Helion is not stated in the announcement.
What changed for data centre operators
Most AI rack designs so far have been built around GPUs, with CPUs as hosts. Helion is a rack where the CPU is the product. AMD's argument is that agents spend much of their time on tool calls, code execution and orchestration, which run on general-purpose cores rather than accelerators. NVIDIA made a similar move with its standalone Vera CPU, which went generally available on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure on 27 October. For operators, a CPU-dense rack for agents changes power and cooling planning less than GPU racks do, but AMD has not published power figures for Helion.
What to watch next
The first check is whether partner systems ship in November 2026 as planned, and which processor SKUs they use. The OCP contribution and any named Helion customers would show whether the design is gaining adoption. AMD's Meta partnership, announced two weeks later, is covered in a separate story. More stories sit under AI Chips & Infrastructure.
What changed
| Before | AMD's rack-scale design, Helios, was built around Instinct GPUs for model training and inference |
|---|---|
| After | AMD Helion adds an open rack blueprint for agent execution, CPU-only with up to 32,768 EPYC cores or mixed with MI350P GPUs |
| Who it affects | Hyperscalers and enterprises running AI agents, OEMs building OCP racks |
Questions people ask
- What is AMD Helion?
- An open rack blueprint for agentic AI announced by AMD on 12 October 2026, based on an Open Compute Project design. It comes as a CPU-only rack or an all-in-one rack with Instinct MI350P GPUs.
- How many cores does AMD Helion have?
- The CPU-only version supports up to 32,768 cores of 6th Gen AMD EPYC processors, according to AMD. That is a maximum, not a standard configuration.
- When is AMD Helion available?
- AMD says configurations are under development with partners and are planned for November 2026.
Sources
- Introducing AMD Helion, Agentic AI Compute at Rack Scale (AMD, 12 Oct 2026)
Reference pages
- AMD company
Spotted an error? See the corrections policy and tell the editor. Facts in this story come from the sources listed above; vendor claims are attributed.
Comments
Loading comments.





